2013 Four Star Awards

Mr. Neel holds the plaques awarded to the bands for their superior ratings at the OMEA state contest

The 4 Star Awards for the 2012-13 school year were held on Monday May 20.  This annual event is an opportunity to thank all the students who participated in the band programs, making those programs successful.  It is also a time to recognize outstanding efforts, award scholarships, and bid farewell to our Seniors.

In addition to First, Second, Third, and Four-Year Awards, presented to all members who met those qualifications, the following received individual recognition, awards and/or scholarships:

Senior Show Director 2012: Lea Lin, Amanda Lint, Sarah Lockwood, Matt Boney, Priscila Klein
Outstanding Freshman Boy: Braydon Putnam
Outstanding Freshman Girl: Clarissa Gardner
Rookie of the Year: Katrina Levy
Outstanding Sophomore Boy: Mike Santucci
Outstanding Sophomore Girl: Emily Powell
Outstanding Junior Boy: Andy Smith
Outstanding Junior Girl: Christine Collins
Band Parent Scholarship: Lea Lin, Amanda Lint, Rachel Pettay, Amber Winkler
Dave Voshall Legacy Award: Amanda Lint
Outstanding Senior: Lea Lin
Most Dedicated Senior: Aaron Amburgey, Ryan Sipus
John Philip Sousa Band Award: Matt Boney
Louis Armstrong Jazz Award: Matt Boney
Senior Leadership Award: Amanda Lint, Priscila Klein
Massillon Tiger Band Alumni Scholarship: Priscila Klein, Lauren Troyer
Chuck “Scoop” Hess Scholarship: Matt Boney
Amanda J. Cunningham Memorial Scholarship: Rachel Pettay
Pizza Oven Scholarship: Abby Allman, Whitney Wise
George “Red” Bird Scholarship: Sarah Lockwood
Swingster Award: Lea Lin
Distinguished Service Award: Linda Lockwood

Congratulations to all the Seniors who make up the WHS Band Program’s Class of 2013:

Abby Allman
Aaron Amburgey
Evan Barker
Elaina Berry
Marcus Blocher
Matt Boney
Jamaal Byrd
Austin Gray
Colm Gustavel
Deion Johnson

Allie Jones
Priscila Klein
Danielle Kuestner
Lea Lin
Amanda Lint
Sarah Lockwood
Felicia Norris
Katelyne Norris
Jessie Osborne
Robert Tyler Putnam

Mackenzie Parsons
Rachel Pettay
Noelle Schumacher
Ryan Sipus
Brandon Smith
Emily Stevens
Lauren Troyer
Alexis Weisgarber
Amber Winkler
Whitney Wise
Jennifer Zaldivar