2020 Four Star Awards

The Four Star Awards is the annual event where we take the opportunity to thank all the students who participated in the band programs, making those programs successful.  It is also a time to recognize outstanding efforts, award scholarships, and bid farewell to our Seniors. The Four Star Awards for the 2019-2020 school year were impacted by the quarantine measures due to the COVID-19 virus. Instead of a live event in the auditorium, the award ceremony was pre-recorded and broadcast on Massillon Cable and YouTube on the evening of May 18.  Mr. Neel and Mrs. Smithhisler will be visiting the homes of each band senior to deliver their awards.

Awards and Scholarships

In addition to First, Second, Third, and Four-Year Awards, presented to all members who met those qualifications, the following received individual recognition, awards and/or scholarships:

Outstanding Freshman Boy: Tyler Styer
Outstanding Freshman Girl: Caitlin Norris
Rookie of the Year: Alexis Fisher
Outstanding Sophomore Boy: Tenyson Graber
Outstanding Sophomore Girl: Lauren Neel
Outstanding Junior Boy: Torrice Robinson
Outstanding Junior Girl: Madison Halter
Level Check Achievement Award*: Emily Neel
Massillon Tiger Band Alumni Scholarship: Michaela Paul, Katy Snodgrass, Claudia Vargas, Demi Ward, Emily Hilbert
Pizza Oven Scholarship: Ben McArthur, Zoey Paulus
Chuck “Scoop” Hess Scholarship: Jordan Higgins
Dave Voshall Legacy Award: Olivia Muzi
George “Red” Bird Scholarship: Jack Bachtel
Amanda J. Cunningham Memorial Scholarship: Olivia Muzi 
Senior Dedication: Lexie Goff, Trevor Hershberger
Senior Service: Chaedyn Chereson, Emily Neel
Senior Leadership Award: Olivia Muzi
Louis Armstrong Jazz Award: Zoey Paulus
John Philip Sousa Band Award: Jordan Higgins
Swingster Award: Jordan Higgins
Distinguished Service Award: Jerry & Michelle McArthur, Henry & Lena Hershberger

Semper Fidelis Award for Musical Excellence: Jordan Higgins
(Presented by the United States Marines Youth Foundation at the WHS Academic Honors Program on May 13)

*The Level Check Achievement Award was instituted in 2019 to recognize those individuals who reached Level 6 in their instrumental level checks.  In the 13 year history of level checks, only four other people have qualified for this award: Lea Lin, Jessie Robinson, Melissa Bomba, and Owen Kramer.

Class of 2020

Congratulations to all the Seniors who make up the WHS Instrumental Music Program’s Class of 2020:

Jack Bachtel
Kayla Bertleff
Destiny Brewer
Kaiser Brumfield
Jacob Campbell
Zayne Caperton-Wenger
Chaedyn Chereson
Isabelle Edmonds

Alexandra Goff
Trevor Hershberger
Jordan Higgins
Emily Hilbert
Victoria House
Destiney Lambrou
Ben McArthur
Olivia Muzi

Emily Neel
Michaela Paul
Zoey Paulus
Jacob Smith
Katy Snodgrass
Claudia Vargas
Demi Ward
Madalyn Wenzel

Thank You Mr. Unferdorfer

These Four Star Awards were even more special than usual as we honored Mr. Unferdorfer. Jim Unferdorfer has been teaching in the district and working with the band for 14 years, and is retiring at the end of the school year. He has worked in the junior high preparing our beginning musicians, and has had a huge impact on many band members past and present. This evening, he took some time to say a few words, and we honored him with a photo slideshow and our heartfelt thanks. Rather than goodbye it’s really more of a “farewell”, as he promises to still be around, whether behind a camera, or trumpet, or french horn – wherever he is needed.

Expressing his gratitude to the thousands of students who he has had the honor of working with throughout the years, he says “Remember what I’ve told you – You’ve taught me more than I ever taught you, and for that I will be forever grateful.”

Watch the 2020 Four Star Awards