2018 Four Star Awards

The 4 Star Awards for the 2017-18 school year were held on Monday May 21.  This annual event is an opportunity to thank all the students who participated in the band programs, making those programs successful.  It is also a time to recognize outstanding efforts, award scholarships, and bid farewell to our Seniors.

Awards and Scholarships

Elena Markley, on the euphonium, leads the crowd in the singing of the Alma Mater to close the evening.

In addition to First, Second, Third, and Four-Year Awards, presented to all members who met those qualifications, the following received individual recognition, awards and/or scholarships:

Outstanding Freshman Boy: Owen Kramer
Outstanding Freshman Girl: Emily Maxhimer
Rookie of the Year: Emily Ryder
Outstanding Sophomore Boy: Chaedyn Chereson
Outstanding Sophomore Girl: Claudia Vargas
Outstanding Junior Boy: Mitchel Paulus
Outstanding Junior Girl: Camryn Gradijan
Massillon Tiger Band Alumni Scholarship:  Bailey Jedel, Kate Joseph, Leah Sorensen
Pizza Oven Scholarship: Jesse Hall, Hanna Willoughby
Chuck “Scoop” Hess Scholarship: Morgan Crum
Dave Voshall Legacy Award: Melissa Bomba, Trent Wicks
George “Red” Bird Scholarship: Elena Markley
Amanda J. Cunningham Memorial Scholarship: Melissa Bomba, Karoline Smith
Senior Dedication and Service: Garrett Fox, Pailey Harris, Michael Morgan, Karoline Smith
Louis Armstrong Jazz Award: Trent Wicks
John Philip Sousa Band Award: Morgan Crum
Swingster Award: Elena Markley
Distinguished Service Award: Brenda Warner

Semper Fidelis Award for Musical Excellence: Melissa Bomba
(Presented by the United States Marines Youth Foundation at the WHS Academic Honors Program on May 16)

Class of 2018

Congratulations to all the Seniors who make up the WHS Instrumental Music Program’s Class of 2018:

Alexcia Ailes
Jonah Bailey
Melissa Bomba
Cole Brady
Hannah Constable
Morgan Crum
Alex Evanoff
Alexis Ferreira
Garrett Fox
Brittany Friedrich
Logan Gardner
Alex Ginther
Aidrian Gossett
Jesse Hall

Allyson Harding
Pailey Harris
Samantha Hershberger
Frank Hill
Nathan Hochstetler
Hunter House
Bailey Jedel
Kate Joseph
Shane Knight
Caleb Leeson
Elena Markley
Tiffany McAlicker
Casey Meshack
Michael Morgan

Maddie Mumme
Sydney Norris
Owen Paul
Jackson Pettay
Tyler Sand
Karoline Smith
Leah Sorensen
Mirai Takai
Bobby Turner
Mikayla Warner
Trent Wicks
Rylee Williamson
Hanna Willoughby
Maria Wolfe