2016 Four Star Awards

The 4 Star Awards for the 2015-16 school year were held on Monday May 16.  This annual event is an opportunity to thank all the students who participated in the band programs, making those programs successful.  It is also a time to recognize outstanding efforts, award scholarships, and bid farewell to our Seniors.

Mr. Neel displays the “Superior Rating” award earned by the Wind Orchestra at 2016 OMEA State Contest

In addition to First, Second, Third, and Four-Year Awards, presented to all members who met those qualifications, the following received individual recognition, awards and/or scholarships:

Outstanding Freshman Boy: Matt Hersher
Outstanding Freshman Girl: Kaitlyn Brown
Rookie of the Year: Alexis Markley
Outstanding Sophomore Boy: Trent Wicks
Outstanding Sophomore Girl: Hanna Willoughby
Outstanding Junior Boy: Quinn Piorkowski
Outstanding Junior Girl: Camrynn Bickel
Massillon Tiger Band Alumni Scholarship: Noah Brant, Brian Corbin
Pizza Oven Scholarship: Rebekah Sorensen, Chelsea Friedrich
Chuck “Scoop” Hess Scholarship: Heather Bomba
Dave Voshall Legacy Award: Maia Wissmar
George “Red” Bird Scholarship: Zac Lockwood
Amanda J. Cunningham Memorial Scholarship: Braydon Putnam
Most Dedicated Senior: Katey Culp
Senior Service: Crystal Constable
Louis Armstrong Jazz Award: Braydon Putnam
John Philip Sousa Band Award: Zac Lockwood
Swingster Award: Zac Lockwood
Distinguished Service Award: Mike and Becky McCullough

Congratulations to all the Seniors who make up the WHS Instrumental Music Program’s Class of 2016:

Kaitlynn Anderson
Alyssa Beck
Matthew Bolan
Heather Bomba
Cara Bonheimer
Erica Borell
Noah Brant
Crystal Constable
Brian Corbin
Katey Culp
Paige Fox

Chelsea Friedrich
Clarissa Gardner
Matthew Gardner
Alex Hermann
Emily Hershberger
Stephanie Hodge
Anthony Jones
Adam Kight
Kelcey Leonard
Katrina Levy
Zac Lockwood

Joseph McCullough
Braydon Putnam
Nathan Ruth
Mike Rutkowski
Jillian Rutkowski
Derek Smith
Rebekah Sorensen
Kamionka Stokes
Andrew Warner
Maia Wissmar